Some people think that the best way to be successful in life is to get a university education. Others disagree and say that nowadays, this is no longer true. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

Some people believe that having a university education secures people’s success in life while others disapprove of this opinion. In my opinion, a university degree can prepare graduated students with good profiles to apply for certain jobs, but it cannot define a person’s success in life since there are many ways to achieve success.

University education offers students the fundamental foundation of knowledge that can be applied in practical settings, especially when it comes to working. Students attending universities receive specialized training in their majors so that they can utilize the acquired knowledge to seek well-paid positions. Moreover, a university certificate is a reliable evidence of a person’s competence for specific jobs and it increases the chances of getting a spot in esteemed companies. Therefore, some people might assume that the optimal way to achieve success in life is to pursue higher education.

Although studying at universities can boost prospects of success in certain circumstances, I presume that it is not the only way that individuals must follow to succeed in life. Since there is a plethora of vocations that are not academically requiring, many high school graduates choose to work straight instead of spending thousands of dollars on tertiary education. For example, hairstylist is a lucrative job for people who skip universities and have no academic certificate. Furthermore, bypassing universities to join the workforce provides individuals with valuable working experiences in different fields despite no prior preparation, unlike university attendees. By engaging in various fields, early entrants into the workforce are likely to learn from mistakes and gain experience to better their performances and earn more money, which contribute crucially to people’s success in life.

In conclusion, although some people’s perspectives of success depend on university education because it teaches students basic knowledge to apply for well-paid jobs and validates people’s competency, I believe that this is not the only path leading to anyone’s success in life. They can still be successful in life without a university education since there is a variety of undemanding jobs and an opportunity to learn and improve while earning monthly.