Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that the most effective measure to improve road safety is raising the minimum age of eligibility for drivers. I mostly disagree with this notion since it can reduce careless driving; however, I am of the opinion that it is ideal to combine it with other approaches such as imposing stricter punishments and upgrading public transportation.

Admittedly, increasing the minimum legal driving age can reduce traffic accidents which boosts the safety of roads. More specifically, this practice deters young commuters who are immature and unaware of the repercussions of their actions from reckless driving. As people get older, they are more mature and responsible when they are in traffic, therefore, potentially mitigating traffic incidents; generating a safer environment for other commuters.

However, this proposal is not optimal by itself since there are two other effective measures which should sit alongside older licensing ages for the best outcome. Chief of these is that the government should enact more severe punishments to prevent drivers from committing traffic-based infringements. For example, drivers who exceed the speed limit or drink alcohol while driving should have to pay a heavy monetary fine or have their driver’s licence revoked. As a result, more drivers will obey the rules while joining the traffic. Another approach is for the government to enhance the public transportation infrastructure such as bus and train services to encourage citizens to use them in their daily life. This can lead to a decline in the number of people utilising private vehicles and therefore safer roads.

In conclusion, I somewhat disagree that increasing the legal driving age can encourage safer travelling, as I believe that other solutions in conjunction with it such as the introduction of more grave punishments on those who violate traffic laws and the enhancement of public transportation combine to make the most viable solution since not all accidents are caused by underage drivers. It is advisable that all three options should be considered by authorities to address traffic problems effectively.