Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe that there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

people’s opinion differ as to whether or not giving offenders longer prison sentences to reduce crime in our society nowadays. While many people think that putting people in prison for longer periods is the best way to tackle with this. I still believe that there are many other measures to solve the problem.

there are a number of reasons why people might argue that heavy penalty may help decrease crime. firstly, spending a long time in prison provides more opportunities for prisoners to rehabilitate personality. With those, for instance, who have committed a serious offence including harassment abuse, have long time spent in jail in order to be re-educated and discourage them to re-offend crime. Another reason is it will have an impact on thinking of individuals who intend to commit crimes, reflect their own behaviors and educate themselves.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that that there are more effective methods to reduce crime rate significantly in the long term. firstly, governments should invest more fundings in educational system. Therefore, citizens would have access to the best learning opportunities. As a result, a large proportion of population is well-educated and filled with civilized thoughts, they are not likely to commit crimes and get themselves into troubles. Secondly, one of the most important factors contribute to reduce people make illegal activities is parental education. The fact that parents play a vital role in development of children and it is possible to help parents be more effective through training and education.

In conclusion, although it might seem sensible for law enforcement agencies to place a person in prison for longer, I personally believe there are better ways of reducing crime.