SOME PEOPLE THINK THE BEST WAY TO REDUCE CRIME IS TO GIVE LONGER PRISON SENTENCES. OTHER, HOWEVER, THINK THERE ARE BETTER WAYS TO REDUCE CRIME. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

The argument over which method is the most effective for reducing crime has been on going for years. Some people consider that longer sentences can lead to a decrease in the proportion of crime while other argue that there are a wide range of different ways should be taken into account. From my point of view, the former idea may not be the best choice for some compelling reasons outlined below.

First of all, it can not be denied that when a person commits an unlawful act, be it a misdemeanor or a felony, prison sentences serve as one of the embodiments of fairness and justice in the world. However, most of the criminals have already been awared of what they will have to face with after being arrested, as a result, they will continue to create heinous crimes no matter what punishments are waiting for them. Lengthening prison sentences will not be a big barrier as most criminals have no ways else to do but to committing crimes due to a variety of physical and mental factors.

Therefore, better education should be the best choice to lower crime. As it can not only enhance people’s awareness but also create a good environment for the development of mental and physical health and it can eleminate some elements that induce a person to become a criminal. Although it is naïve to expect everyone to follow the laws just because they are provided with good education, living in a society where everyone is taught to do the right things can somehow prevent people from having distorted thinking and showing propensity for crime.

To sum up, there should be punishments for people who commit crime or else society would fall into chaos. However, there should also be other methods such as providing better education, environment for everyone to live in. It is the combination of both measures that can truly make a difference in the fight against crime