Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

In the present day, opinions are divided on whether inmates spending more years in confinement is the optimal way to alleviate crime, or whether there are more effective solutions. Personally, while understanding why many individuals support the former, I am in favor of the latter.

Admittedly, putting criminals in jail for a longer time does partially help with crime reduction. In such an extreme environment, few opportunities to socialize can lead to a sense of loneliness, stress, and grief in prison, which is too epic for potential ones to think of breaking the law due to its severe consequences. However, one disadvantage to this is the escalating cost of maintenance of security and control in penitentiaries paid by government funds, which can be allocated to develop more educational facilities, curriculum, and courses for long-term effects on citizens’ awareness of wrongdoings.

Despite benefits from longer prison sentences, I would argue that investing more in education in terms of self-defense and moral courses would produce permanent effects. Through these types of classes, young and older citizens can gain understanding of why they should obey the law and even how to protect themselves from forms of violence such as physical assault or family abuse. Moreover, educational campaigns with real ex-prisoners sharing stories about their miserable lives in the prison can have a significant impact on those from an early age, which might help reduce wrongdoings in the future.

In conclusion, although letting prisoners serve longer sentences can exert effects regarding emotions among imminent criminals, I hold the belief that better options like investing in education could be considered because of its long-term effects.