Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, think there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Decreasing the crinimal rate is currently one of the important issues in many cities and countires. Some individuals believe that extending the length of punishment in prisons can effectively prevent crime, whereas others argue that govement can apply better methods to make it happen. In my view, providing financial support and public lectures about local laws by the governments may reduce crime more efficiently.

On the one hand, longer punishment in prisons are considered as an effective methods to decrease the criminal rate in different reasons. First of all, this punishing method may mentally influence potential criminals because of the terrible results which they have to face to in the future; and it may emphasize people’s awareness, that no one wants to stay in prisons, espiciall for a significantly long-term period. Moreover, some people argue that blocking dangerous criminals such as serial killers in the prisons as long as possible may ensure the whole society to stay safe more easily, since the ‘most’ threating people are in their cells.

However, some people think that warning potential criminals by issuing longer sentences is not the most effective way to reduce crime. It may be even better if the government can provide some supportive assistances to the publics, such as offering public lectures about laws and policies, suppling financial support for the people in the low socio-economical status’ groups. The updated legal information can assist individuals to be more aware about legal and illegal situations, avoiding breaking different laws. Meanwhile, financial support for people who are living under the National Standards may decrease some people’s criminal motivations for such as stealing and robbery. Therefore, legal and financial supports have positive influences of reducing crimes.

In conclusion, despite of the concerning from longer prison sentences, providing legal and financial supports seems to be more supportive for the publics to be aware of the laws and keep away from breaking them.