Space research is a waste of money. The government should spend money on improving conditions of people living on the Earth. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Space research has been developed with great strides due to massive financial investment from the state, and it benefits people’s lives in various aspects. However, some people argue that government should cut down the budget of the research and spend this money on improving people’s living conditions. In my opinion, although it is vital to support people in under-developed areas, government should not stop exploring the space.

On the one hand, the astronomic research has not been done without reasons, and the results from massive studies about the universe have dramatically changed human’s lives. Those achievements improved people’s life in regard of transportation and entertainment. For example, the application of numerous manmade satellites has resulted in the development of the Global Positioning System (GPS), which assists travelers to locate their positions accurately and select better routines. Moreover, people in many countries can watch television channels globally because of the development of satellites as well. Therefore, the achievement of space research indeed has changed humans’ lives incredibly.

On the other hand, some people argue that spending money enhancing people’s conditions is worthier than supporting space research. They believe that financial assistance from the government can benefit individuals who are living in poverty by helping them reconstruct houses, obtain healthier food and purchase medicine. However, it is unjustified to say that space research is a waste of money simply based on this ground. The reason is that space research has the potential to produce productive outcomes for humans. To explain, the main driving force for many outer space projects is to explore new energy as well as possible dwelling places for our future existence. Therefore, space research should not be excluded from national plans.

In conclusion, although developing people’s living conditions is an important issue to be concerned, government should not ignore the achievement and benefits from space research.