Some people think that cultural traditions will be destroyed if they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others, however, believe that is the only way to save these traditions. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the period when many cultural traditions are commercialised, while many people think that our traditional heritages will be spoiled if they are used to make money, I would argue that commercialisation is also an integral part in preserving such traditions.

On the one hand, it is clear that travelling abroad is becoming more affordable and easier, as an obvious result, this trend has caused many negative impacts on indigenous traditions. Firstly, meaning of literary and artistic heritages gradually are changed to suit for economic purposes rather than authentic values. For example, Quan Ho Bac Ninh is a famous traditional genre of music tends to be deeply changed to be suitable for younger audiences. Secondly, traditional dishes nowadays gradually don’t require to to follow a strict recipe to serve tourists so we will able to forget how our original dishes like. For instance, Bun Bo Hue is one of the most famous traditional dish in the Vietnamese cuisine which is well-known on over the world, however, restaurant chains nowadays has lost original favours and taste of this tasty dish.

On the other hand, I believe that although globalisation impacts negatively on traditions, it also contributes a significant part in maintaining native traditional heritages. It is undoubted that people can not know a particular ethnic community if their valuable traditions can not propagated to the remaining part of the world, in which commercialisation plays an important role through literature festivals or concert venue where traditional values are professional performed. In a practical perspective, in many places, indigenous residents have to maintain their special conventionalities to ensure fundamental living conditions. In other words, priceless tradtion can not survive unless native families have no stable financial base.

In conclusion, while there is a point of view that economic purpose is undermining cultural traditions due to aim at tourists instead of preserving them, I believe that commercialisation helps cultural values to spread out easier.