Some people think that the development of technology has made our life more complex, and the solution is to live a simpler life without that technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that new technologies and devices have had revolutionary influences on all aspects of human life, so the use of technology should be inhibited to reduce the complexity of daily life. While it is true that modern technology affects people to some extent, I believe that excluding technology is not a good option.

To begin with, there are several inconvenient impacts of technology in modern society. Firstly, since most of the inventions such as thermal electricity, car, airplane produce a significant figure for carbon dioxide which is main cause of global warming, the rapid development of technology causes some negative environmental problems which destroys the earth’s ecologic balance. Secondly, because modern technologies facilitate some manual work in many factories, the human effort has replaced and automation devices might take away a lot of jobs. This makes modern people slaves of machines which could lead to vanishing of traditional handicrafts such as pottery and dyeing.

However, I agree that rejecting technology is not a good solution to have simpler life. First, as high-tech equipment have some difficult and complex functions that people do not, technology plays a crucial role in people’s survival. For example, CT scan, MRI and ultrasound help doctors detect and cure serious diseases. Additionally, development in technology relieve people of daily routine to save a great deal of spare time to enjoy themselves and perform more important purposes instead of doing the chores such as baking several food items, washing clothes and sweeping floors. Without the help of modern technology, people might to struggle with high pressure from hectic schedule.

In conclusion, while technology makes people more involved in their life, I believe that it plays an indispensable role for them to feel comfortable.