Some people think that English might someday become the only language to be spoken and written in the world, due to globalization. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Some people think that globalization will lead to a single language spoken and written in the world and English is the language that is likely to perfect that. This would create certain benefits but there will also be some disadvantages.

Obviously, when English becomes the only language to be used, there will be almost no gap between countries. This means that when the language barrier disappears, conflicts are easier to resolve and understand. Moreover, the trade, exchange of goods, and tourism will also be much more favorable, leading to more developed economies. Scientific research and development are also easier since all scientific articles from all countries are previously required to be presented in English. With the language homogeneity, it is not difficult anymore.

On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. First, it is not easy to be able to write and speak English fluently. Indeed, for countries using the Latin alphabet like Vietnam, English proficiency may take about 5 years, which will be even longer for countries using hieroglyphs such as China, Japan,… Second, language is part of a culture, so if English is used as the only language, thousands of other languages in the world will gradually disappear. This leads to a loss of cultural diversity. All problems in the world will then not be assessed in the most objective way. For example, in the culture of many countries, the forest is a sacred place that needs to be preserved and protected, but in other countries, forests can be freely exploited for human consumption.

In conclusion, using English as a single language has certain advantages in terms of globalization and the development of commerce or tourism. However, its drawback is also something that needs to be carefully considered when it will result in the loss of cultural diversity around the world.