Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. Has this been a positive or negative development?

Technology is one of the areas that is developed, improved every day, every hour, and is also what changes people's lives dramatically. Nowadays, the ways people communicate are also very different from the old day thanks to the presence of modern technologies. This brings a lot of benefits but has some drawbacks.

One of the most tremendous assistance that technologies provide us today is its extremely fast connection speed and extensive network connectivity. Indeed, the Internet is present in almost every country all over the world so the connections are not geographically limited. The advancement of science has made the speed of transmission of information is nearly instantaneous. We can stay in Vietnam and email our friends or colleagues overseas or even know what they are doing through video calls. Communication and connectivity are incredibly easy compared to forms where technology is not yet developed, like hand mail shipped by water, which sometimes takes months to be delivered.

The use of technology also requires reasonable methods due to its harmful side of limiting interpersonal skills. Indeed, according to a study taken by the University of Greenwich, the exposure of adolescents to technology too early and for a long time will cause negative effects on the ability to communicate directly between people and gain the risk of autism. Young people are encouraged to interact more openly to boost flexibility, confidence, connectivity as well as develop other soft skills.

In conclusion, everything has two good and bad sides and so does technology. If we know how to make the most use of it, it will deliver great effects not only in the field of communication. On the other hand, improper use will make us depend too much on it and sometimes lose our mastery.