Some people think environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others, however, think that those problems cannot be solved unless individuals take some action. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there have been several controversies about environmental problems are increasing. While some people argue that global issues can not be solved by an individual, others think that it is possible to make a change. In my personal view, I am of the belief that only if individuals take some actions could environmental contamination be effectively alleviated.

On the one hand, it is reasonable for some to consider that this problem is too big for human beings to resolve. First of all, fighting against such natural disasters as floods, earthquakes, and tsunamis may be beyond the ability of average people. To illustrate, global warming, which causes lots of the disasters mentioned above, is an obvious phenomenon happening across the globe. Hence, all of us are witnessing its effects on our daily lives. This might be explained by the fact that people need more resources and food for their lives with the increase in the global population. In order to expand the living areas, people tend to destroy the flora of several areas, especially in the forests. Consequently, the weather has severely changed in many decades and the temperature is always increasing, leading to many tragedies, such as wildfires, hurricanes, rises in sea levels, and diseases, which take a long time for humans to deal with the consequences. Additionally, there are even disasters that people have yet to find a way to solve as thoroughly as before, like the COVID-19 pandemic that killed million of people.

However, others assert that unless humans take some action, environmental contamination could become a chronic issue. And there are lots of measures we might probably adopt. First and foremost, governments could introduce laws to limit carbon dioxide emissions that lead to global warming and respiratory diseases. In other words, they might impose "green taxes" on drivers, airline alliances, and so on, combined with investing in renewable energy production from solar, wind, or water power.On an individual level, we should try to change our daily habits by banning plastics and using environmentally friendly transport, such as bicycles and public vehicles, or planting trees to reduce global warming. Followed by the above solutions is the modification of the state supervision of the well-being of our environment.

In summary, although the battle against natural disasters and large-scale man-caused dangers may seem like an impossible task for individuals, efforts and attempts are still an integral part of the aim to create a better living environment by adopting some small steps. All of these strategies can secure the survival of the Earth. I believe that if we all work together to protect our planet, we will be able to achieve it.