In many countries, traditional food is being replaced by international fast foods. This is having a negative effect on both families and societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many nations, with globalization and international trade facilities, it is undeniable that the rise of fast food has been a significant issue in civilization and has replaced traditional ones virtually. From my perspective, I agree that the increase in junk food is not only detrimental to families but also to both individuals and societies. However, I also believe that this adaptation has bought some benefits to humans.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why fast food consumption presents a lot of drawbacks. First of all, junk food can have an adverse impact on people's health. Some dishes, like pizzas, fried chickens, or sandwiches, contain too much fat, saturated carbohydrates, and calories. Consequently, this may cause several diseases, like obesity, type 2 diabetes, and so on. To illustrate, according to the Ministry of Health of Vietnam, 20% of the Vietnamese people are overweight and the main reason is junk food and calorie drinks such as Coca-Cola and Pepsi. Additionally, the rise in consumption of fast food has also impacted family relationships. Sitting around a table, the family enjoys a meal. It strengthens relationships. A happy dinner is also a chance for all members to share with one another and relieve stress after a long day at work. These benefits are not seen when children and adults just sit in front of the TV and eat from fast food packets held in their hands. As a result, it cannot entice all family members to return to their meal in order to preserve family memories.

On the other hand, I consider that eating fast food, such as hamburgers or fish and chips, has its own set of benefits. First and foremost, it is true that eating junk food items helps you manage a schedule more effectively and saves time. Individuals rarely have a flexible time to eat their lunch or dinner, which requires full nutrition, hygienic, and organic due to their busy lifestyle. In fact, there are a plethora of fast food stores and kiosks like Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC), or McDonald's, in the corners of the streets, subway stations, and malls in several metropolises around the world. Therefore, eating junk food is one option to fill people's stomachs and to get some satisfaction from the hunger, and hence manage different plans without going hungry in the process. Furthermore, this stuff offers a complete meal at an affordable price. Quick-service restaurants always have a low cost compared to lunch and dinner in restaurants and hotels because they do not need to spend much time and materials making them. For instance, if a person buys a hamburger filled with minced meat, lettuce, tomatoes, and so on in commercial stores such as Burger King, he or she only needs to pay $3 to purchase this meal. By contrast, in the local or fine-dining restaurants, the price is higher, about $6 with the same filling.

In summary, despite the noteworthy positive aspects of eating fast food, the drawbacks of this phenomenon are enormous and need to be looked at. As in modern society, each individual should be aware of the problems caused by junk food to minimize its effects on their own lives.