Some people think that the excessive use of smart phones badly affects teenagers’ literacy skills

In the light of the proliferation of technology, It is widely acknowledged that smart phones have permeated every aspect of people‘s lives. However, the frequency of using smartphones is still a topic that arouses much controversy. Some people believe that the capacity of writing and reading has been effected negetively by the over usage. While this may true to some extent, I would argue that adolescents competencies are not harmed.

The main purpose of using smartphones for younger generation is entertaining which is deteriorating teenagers’ literacy. Nowadays, adolescents use smartphone as a tool to keep in touch with their peers. By using informal English continuously, it has marginalized the formal form of writing. In a broader scale, people who are addicted to social media will spend a copious amount of time on their smartphones wasting their time to surf webs. This is a testament to the effects of smartphones.

I off the opinion that smartphones do not deteriorate adolescent competencies. It is no doubt that smartphones have revolutionized the way people access internet sources. In addition, students can read a thousand of formal articles online, which they can acquire knowledge about writing and reading, instead of buying newspaper from newsstand. The diversity of internet sources will go a long way with student’s literacy, creativity will be boosted. Furthermore, program developers created websites correcting student writing in a formal way. This is irrefutable the advantages of smartphones to student literacy.

In conclusion, while there are many reasons why smartphones affect student literacy, I believe that student competencies will be more beneficial of using it.