Some people think that exercise and a good diet are not necessary for a healthy and long life To what extent do you agree or disagree

Since time immemorial, it has been debated that workout and health diet are not essential for healthy and longer life expectancy. I completely fail to agree with this stance since maintaining good diet and gradual exercise are good for preventing degenerative disease, stabilizing mood, and increasing productivity.

Periodic exercise (at least 30 minutes everyday) and a healthy diet are evidence to have big impact on our fitness and live expectancy. One of the reason is it help to prevent the development of degenerative disease like diabetes mellitus and hypertension. A recent epidemiology study explained that the risk in develop diabetes mellitus and other cardiovascular disease were decline by 5-10% in subjects who had a good diet (low carbohydrates and saturated fats) and who constantly did at least 30 minutes jogging every three days. The study also explain that the two factors contributed to the increase of insulin sensitivity and our blood vessels elasticity. Moreover, the risk to get overweight is also declined because of the faster metabolism. Therefore, the development of diabetes mellitus and cardiovascular disease would be slower.

Furthermore, exercise and a healthy diet are needed to stabilize our mood. It is also proved by the neurologist if endorphins levels are strongly related with the two factors. Endorphins is a hormone released by our body that have function to prevent anxiety and make us feel happy. meanwhile, the good mood is directly associated with the incline of productivity. Some survey in Indonesia said that the employees who had good achievement and productivity in office were also had low level of anxiety. Therefore, maintaining a good diet and exercise are significantly beneficial for our fitness.

In conclusion, workout and a healthy foods are two factors that have a lot of benefits to our health as it prevent degenerative diseases, help to maintain our weight and increase our mood and productivity.