some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to guarantee a job, others believe that it would be better is they go straight to work and gain experience instead. discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is a widely held view that graduating from university is an effective guarantee for getting a job afterward; however, another point of view states that people will be better off gaining experience by actually taking part in the job market. From my viewpoint, I would support the idea of combining these two kinds of experience, as will be discussed later.

First of all, workers do not necessarily have a brighter career path with their university’s graduation certificate, as it does not prove how skilled they are. In fact, there are many students who are immensely lazy and just try to get barely enough qualifications to be able to graduate. An obvious example of this is Dung - a friend of mine - who was not attentive in class and who is now struggling a lot with his job opportunities.

An opposite view, which supports having a job immediately after school, is also not sound due to the lack of specialized knowledge of young workers. Take an extreme case of child labour for instance. If a teenager who is underqualified is asked to get a job, it is obvious that they will end up being a trivial house cleaner, a store worker, or such a low-level employee. At the same time, if that child is well-nurtured and is provided with sufficient education, there are possibilities that they may become an attorney, a doctor, or even a president, with thousands of job opportunities.

On the whole, neither the idea of possessing a university degree nor going straight to work is convincing, as they both have some defects. Hence, there is an alternative: students can go for a part-time job whilst studying their major. This will, at the same time, help in gaining their knowledge as well as their experience. With these fully developed understandings and skills, everyone can broaden their career path.