Some people think that good health is important to everyone, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the disadvantages of private health care outweigh the advantages?

There is a common belief that good health is of great importance to everyone and therefore profit-making companies are not supposed to run medical services. Although some people may claim that private health care may be too expensive to the public, I would support that it may have copious positives.

Private healthcare can be of great benefit to patients’ efficiency boost. If the medical services are operated by private corporations, there would be affluent ones emerging and competing with each other in order to make profits. Under this stiff competition, these private hospitals may put all their efforts to improve themselves in every aspect, especially trying to solve the problem of a long queue of patients waiting for their treatments. Consequently, patients in private hospitals can see their doctors quickly.

Another advantage is that the doctors in the private hospitals are more responsible for their patients. Compared with the doctors in the public hospitals, the counterparts in the private ones normally receive far fewer patients, which makes it possible for them to regularly collect the feedback from their patients and to give more useful advice about the patients’ rehabilitation.

Naturally, a few opponents may argue that the private healthcare tends to be more expensive than the public one, allowing the rich to be treated and the poverty-stricken not to. This difference may be the main reason why the poor cannot keep healthy. However, the government can effectively address this problem by rendering financial aids to the impoverished patients who are in desperate need of cash.

In conclusion, according to what has been discussed above, my firm conviction is that private healthcare has more advantages than disadvantages.