Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, while others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are opposing views regarding whether the government should not invest its funding in cultural activities or supporting these activities can provide more benefits in terms of social values. In my opinion, while the former is true for underdeveloped areas, the latter is more suitable for developed ones.

In areas suffering from poverty and starvation, it is significantly beneficial to the economy if the government focuses on new methods of food production instead of art and culture. With such innovations, financial pressure put on local businesses and low-income farmers will be reduced, which also facilitates economic development. A case in point is that after receiving governmental fundings in advanced land reclamation measures, northern mountainous provinces of Viet Nam where soil erosion used to be prevalent, has increased their agricultural productivity and achieved a significant reduction in the poverty rate. As a result, it can be seen that art and culture are not of top importance regarding these countries.

As for wealthy areas, however, societal aspects can be well promoted and preserved if government offers a dedicated financial support to cultural activities. For the community, they are tools to promote social cohesion – the bond between people. In the other words, not only do art and culture provide entertainment but they also strengthen the community relations. On the other hand, such activities preserve the long-standing unique and valuable culture which apparently is the pride of a country. This can be exemplified by Quan Ho folk songs - a genre of Vietnamese traditional theatrical music, which were born in the 11th century and has been well conserved and promoted by the government as well as Bac Ninh's local council every year.

In conclusion, while focusing on investing in economic aspects instead of cultural activities in poor areas is an effective tactic to improve the economy, wealthy countries can utilise government funding in art and culture as a way to appreciate culture and strengthen the community bond.