Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, while others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are opposing views regarding whether the government budget should spent for art and culture or cultural events should be supported. In my opinion, while the former is true for underdeveloped countries, the latter is more appropriate for developed ones.

In countries where there is a growing disparity between rich and poor, I understand why people are bashing the idea of funding for art. The labor workers are the population who cannot meet their basic needs such as food or accommodation. This is why, to them, art is the embodiment of the rich. Countries like India and China are good examples, while government financial assistance is spent on investing in art, there are millions of people who are malnourished due to deprivation of food. Therefore, investment by the government in art and culture can lead to tension and conflicts and accordingly pose a serious threat to the safety and stability of the society.

As for developed countries, if the government support activities which convey cultural expressions, there will be more advantages for their economies as a whole. These projects will lay the solid foundation for the development of tourism, which is a labor-intensive industry. By doing this, it could create more job opportunities for residents and generate an enormous source of income for the local region. As a result, it will boost national economic growth. A case in point is that Japan, with its cultural richness, attracts massive influx of tourists from different parts of the world every year and thus encouraging its tourism industry in an impressive way.

In conclusion, while there are some drawbacks when there is a supply for art and culture in underdeveloped nations, an investing in cultural projects will boost the overall economy of developed ones.