Some people think government should invest more money in teaching science
than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what
extent do you agree or disagree?
In a world where education lays the foundation of a strong nation, the topic of
whether governments should invest more in science teaching or not has attracted
attention of the public. While I agree that the investments of education budget in
science is necessary, I believe that the funds should also be allocated to other subjects.
On the one hand, it is advisable to subsidize science for government for future
development. This is, spending money on science teaching strengthens a nation’s
ability to repel invaders. This is the guarantee of social stability and economic
development. Simultaneously, the advance in science and technology of a nation
promotes the nation’s productivity, which relies heavily on large amounts of talents
equipped with science knowledge such as computer, business and accounting.
On the other hand, plenty of arguments and evidences could be easily found to
prove that the government spending should not only be restricted to science study.
The cultivation of talents is to promote their comprehensive development both
mentally and physically. For example, sport is a a good way to develop physical
fitness, team spirit and critical thinking. Furthermore, the mightiness of a nation
requires not only the development in scientific field, but also the cultural wealth. The
teaching of other subjects like music cultivates their artistic eye as well as
strengthening their cultural deposit. The inheritance and development of historical
culture, traditional music and other arts promote the national pride.