Medical technology can increase life expectancy. Is it a blessing or a curse?

Recently, owing to the advances made in the medical field, humans' life expectancy has risen drammatically. For instance, in some developed countries, the average life expectancy can exceed 80 years. While this is often considered a positive development, some people believe that there are disadvantages associated with it. In my opinion, although I agree that it is beneficial to prolong people's lives, in a few cases, this may also bring drawbacks.

On the one hand, medical technology that extends humans' lives can offer numerous benefits to the elderly. To start with, not only does it help people to live longer, but it also enhance the quality of life. As old citizens have spent a long time contributing to the society, they deserve to enjoy a favourable retirement, which lasts decently and is almost illness-free. Moreover, children of the older people tend to seize more time to take a good care of their parents, since they were overwhelmed with work and study when they were younger. These days, medical systems in many countries in the world could help to fulfill this need.

On the other hand, an extended life would pose difficulties for the government. First of all, as the number of elderly people increases, the budget for social welfare is likely to be under pressure. this is attributed to the expenditures of paying pensions to the retired workers. Furthermore, it is necessary for the authority to introduce more nurturing homes, hospitals, and employ more medical staff. since a large percentage of workers would be employed to support the elderly, many industries are likely to face the lack of human resources.

In conclusion, as discussed, prolonging people’ lives can give them and their families many benefits. Nevertheless, there will be some problems which the government have to address when their government live a significantly longer life.