Some people say that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

In the future, it is predicted that the number of elderly people will overtake that of young people in many countries. For example, Japan has already seen an overwhelming number of people aging above 60. In my opinion, this is likely to be a negative trend and I will explain my belief in this essay.

To begin with, the lack of workforce would be a serious issue that countries with old population have to face. In this era, there are many industries, such as mining, that require a tremendous number of workers. In addition, these jobs tend to demand physical fitness, as well as long working hours, which are mostly suitable to young workers only. As a result, a decrease in the rate of young age group would hinder the development of the important industries, consequently damaging the economic expansion of the whole nation.

Furthermore, an old population can also cause financial problems to the government. This is because the government have to increase their spending on social welfare, which pays retired workers their pensions. Moreover, the costs of disease treatment and health care also arises along with the rise of the percentage of elderly citizens. Except for some countries which have already had large economy, most countries would not be able to address these expenses.

Lastly, it is widely believed that this trend seems to be irreversible. Many families could be reluctant to have many children since they have to take care of old parents, which is rather time-consuming. Consequently, the proportion of young people is likely to keep falling over the years, worsening the problem.

All in all, it can be seen that the country’s economic growth will probably suffer if the percentage of younger people drops. Thus, I hold a firm belief that it would be a negative development that a country has more elderly people than young adults.