As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the number of cars traveling on roads has been rising sharply, especially in modern and developed countries. Consequently, road systems need large amounts of money for maintenance, construction, and upgrading costs. While some people suggest that the government should finance those works, others believe that drivers should pay for them. Nevertheless, in my opinion, both the government and drivers should share the costs relating to commuting systems, and I will explain my argument further in this essay.

To begin with, there are some reasons the government should pay for the majority of the costs. Firstly, building infrastructures is one of the primary functions of the state. It is widely known that the government charges their citizens with taxes, and the money will then be spent on public purposes, including accommodating traffic systems. Secondly, as the country’s economy largely depends on traffic systems, improving roads would benefit the country. This is because modern traffic infrastructures can enable the transportation of goods in a relatively short time, enhancing productions and trades.

However, drivers also have to be responsible for the road construction fees, based on their types of vehicles and mileages. In some countries, there are roads which were initially in good conditions, break down quickly after few years in use, due to the frequent travel of large lorries and containers. Thus, people who contribute the most to the deconstruction should pay the largest amount of money to maintain the infrastructure. Hopefully, by doing this, roads could be protected from severe damages.

All in all, as vehicle are commuting on roads more often, the increase of costs for traffic systems is inevitable. For the reasons that I discussed in this essay, I believe that those costs should be covered by both the government and people.