Some people think that the government should pay one of the parents of very young children to stay at home to look after their children.

What do you think would be the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

It is irrefutable that children are the policy makers of tomorrow. A large group of thinkers has thought that government should take a responsibility to spend some amount of its budget to pay one of the parents to take care of their children. This essay shall discuss the tremendous benefits and several untoward repercussions of this phenomenon.

Perhaps, the main advantage is that after spending enormous time with parents, children will be able to absorb conventions and codes of conducts. This will help to convert a child into a responsible citizen of the society. Moreover, parents are regarded as role models by their offsprings and thus, teenagers can acquire immense knowledge related to their culture and tradition. Finally, some vitally important life lessons can be taught to children by their parents. For instance, it can often be seen that parents establish some ground rules to develop several essential virtues and temperament in their pupils.

On the downside, authorities would have to pay a huge amount of money to every family, and therefore, it is possible that due to dearth of finance, administration may not be able focus on other important areas such as education and healthcare properly. Furthermore, if bureaucrats allocate such a large proportion of money, it would be of paramount importance for parents to keep in touch with their children all the time which means that a child will not be able to learn freely; conversely, pupils may be more able to learn when they are not supervised. Many children, for example, gain various pivotal skills such as cooperation and how to live an independent life from their fellow peers. Therefore, it is clear that this aspect has disadvantages too.

To recapitulate, it appears to me that although numerous merits stem out if government pay money to at least one parent, some negative effects will also be generated which cannot be overlooked.