Some people think that the government should spend more money on public services than public arts.

To what extent do you agree with this statement.

Some contend that more government budget should be poured into public service than public arts. In my opinion, while an on-going financial investment in public service should be consistent, public arts should receive attention as it can boost the quality of life as well as play an intrinsic role in building a national identity.

Beginning with the view that the government's financial support should keep focusing on public service, it is proved by the press with a myriad of news reported on social crisis resulted from low-standard public services such as education, security or social welfare. An illustrative example of this is criminality, which is prevailing intensively in areas rife with insufficient security and a lack of schooling, especially in undeveloped cities or countries. Aside from law-breakers arising from poor education and security, there is an inclination of slums due to little social welfare established to help the poor, ill and elderly people. Therefore, the government should scrutinise an option of increasing more charitable organizations to reach all areas suffering from the aforementioned social issues!

Turning to an alternative viewpoint, public arts are should be equally invested. Public arts can create a desirable and peculiar environment. Many of the great cities of the world are famous for their signature public arts such as the Eiffel Tower, Statue of Liberty, which are enjoyed by both locals and tourists. In other words, arts have a profound impact on preserving national identities. Besides, vibrant societies almost always have a tolerant and unique arts community. For example, the Tang and Song dynasties are often viewed as being the height of Chinese civilization and these periods were characterized by their arts such as poems, music and architecture. Similarly, when art and innovation were restricted during the Ming dynasty, Chinese civilisation fell into decline.

In conclusion, both public service and public arts should receive equal investment from the government budget in order to balance the quality as well as the beauty of a city or country.