Some people think that young people should follow traditions from their society; other people think that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people contend that young people should follow and preserve the traditions of their society. However, others refute this by asserting that the youngsters should be allowed to behave as individuals. Both these aforementioned views will be addressed in this essay before a conclusion is reached.

To initiate, since time immemorial, traditions have played an important key role in our society. They help form the foundation and structure of our families and nations. Besides, traditions make one naton, one family or a group of people distinct from the others. By the way of exemplifying, Westerners celebrate Halloween or Christmas, while the Spring Festival are hold in a myriad of Asian countries. Therefore, young adults should follow traditions from the predecessors so as to preserve cultural’s identities.

On the other hands, youngsters should also be encouraged to identify their own selves. As time goes on, certain traditions and predjuces, especially on women, have become superstious and inappropriate for the modern societies. Women are now encouraged to do tasks that they were not allowed to do in the past. They have opportunities to go to school, pursue higher education or choose whenever they want to get married. For example, in India or Nepal, it is reported that the age of getting married for girls are much higher in the past. The proportion of both boys and girls going to school also significantly increased. This demonstrates the efforts of the governments in encouraging young people to explore and develop their interior potential.

In conclusion, i am of the opinion that young people should follow the traditions but have a chance to behave as individuals in order to identify and develop their own potentials.