Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

These days, despite the revolution in terms of human civilization which makes the world to shift her attention to technology and other sectors, I will disagree with the notion of government relinquishing art to the background and spending on another sector.

First, art is life. Art deals with the inner mind of people coupled with their creativity ability in producing a result beyond reasoning. Art helps humans in reasoning and viewing the world and scenario through another perspective. Relinquishing this to the background through the government action signifies that their creative ability is no longer of no use and appreciated. Art entails music, drawing, writing, sculptures and many others.

Secondly, art centres serve as museums which bring foreigners and visitors for learning and recreation. Some countries of the world finance the country's economy or state finance through the revenue generated at the art centres. It opens the location and centres for both foreign and local business transactions, thereby curbing the rate of unemployment in the country.

Furthermore, art helps in knowing the cultural background of a particular ethnic group or tribe. Art helps the new generation in having an in-depth knowledge of their tribes. For example, the Benin Kingdom art work, the Great Pyramid in Egypt both helps the citizens know and have more knowledge of their tribe and nation's history.

In conclusion, art unites the soul of men through various mediums. Human loves their products being valued and taken in high regards, thus government recognizing and developing talents in the world of art will be of added advantage to the country as well as a huge morale boost for the present art men and women.