Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere to what extent do you agree with this view

It is important to consider whether to spend a great deal of money on arts and artists. While some agree to continue funding on arts, others are of the opinion to invest this money on more pressing issues. In my opinion, government should make sure to spend equal amount of money on both sectors as each has its own cause for receiving monetary support.

To begin with, art is considered as an indispensable part of a society. This is because it plays a vital role in a country’s cultural heritage, which connects us with our traditional customs, beliefs and our unique way of living. In other words, it distinguishes every nation from one another in terms of their culture and tradition. Consequently, cessation of investment on arts would result in obsolescence of our own cultural identity. Another point to consider is that art galleries and museums provide million dollars’ worth of revenue to the nation every year. For instance, thousands of art enthusiasts from all over the world visit Italy, Spain and Greece to admire the magnificent works of prominent artist such Leonardo Da Vinci, Pablo Picasso and many more, which generates nearly half of the total income of those countries. Therefore, it is quite evident that art does not drain the government resources only; instead, it opens up opportunities to boost a country’s economy.

On the other hand, many developing countries are facing many problems, namely poverty, illiteracy and unemployment. These sectors require immediate attention from the government or else they would go out of control. A report published from the United Nation stated that 65% of the world population is still living below the poverty line and do not have access to basic needs. Moreover, due to scarcity of healthcare services, lots of people not only suffer from avoidable diseases but also become a victim of premature fatalities. Hence, these problems cannot be overlooked at all. Instead of stopping support to arts, government can utilize the money earned from art sectors to subsidize such pressing problems.

In conclusion, it is not hard to see that both art sectors and other alarming problems of the countries have their own reasons for getting an uninterrupted fund from the governments. I think that government should devise a plan to allocate equal amount of funds for both categories so that neither of them go unnoticed.