In some countries a few people earn extremely high salaries Some people think that this is good for a country while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is important to consider whether income disparity is essential for the society or not. Although some people believe that difference in the salaries bring positive outcome, others tend to disagree with that and opine that government should cap salaries. In my opinion, variation in the pay scale is necessary for all levels of people as this work as a motivation for them and increase their productivity.

On the one hand, many people are in favor of regulating the salaries by the government. This is because fixed wage would alleviate the gap between the rich and the poor. In other words, the discrimination that people have to face in everyday life based on income discrepancy would disappear, which is likely to act as an incentive for people to focus more on their work. A recent study revealed that majority of the employees in Bangladesh suffer from inferiority complex due to huge difference in the pay scale. Another reason behind this is that the concept of equal pay would put an end to gender pay gap. To clarify, women are generally paid far less than the male in our society despite doing the same amount of work. Therefore, if government regulates the salaries, then these women will not become victim of such unfairness.

Nevertheless, salary gap has a number of benefits in the society and I firmly believe that. Firstly, it acts as an impetus for hard-working people. To elaborate, each and every people have the desire to improve their lifestyle, which can only be turned into reality by earning high salaries. Consequently, the difference in the salary inspires them to work even harder so that they can get a well-paid job. If the government had capped salaries, then there would have been no reason left for them to struggle in the workplace. Secondly, an employee’s salary should commensurate with their experience and qualification. It is quite logical that people risking their lives at work deserve a higher wage than an assistant who does menial work. Needless to say, promotion with increased salaries and other benefits are essential for job satisfaction and retention at a company.

In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I think that having variation in the salaries incentivize people to uplift their life, which, in turn, accelerate the financial advancement of a nation.