Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ as to whether extreme sports should be banned or individuals are free to choose their own sports. In my view, I lean towards the latter idea.

To begin with, it is understandable why some people request a ban on dangerous sports. One reason is that they are afraid of the potential harm these activities pose. For example, when an F1 car crashes while running in high speed, there might be a chance that the shattered debris of the car fly into the crowd and cause a severe casualty. Likewise, if a skydiver could not open his parachute and free fall, his body may actually hit people who are walking on the ground. This is why some individuals would support the prohibition of extreme activities to protect themselves from the potential threat.

However, I side with those who think that people have the rights to participate in this type of sports. One reason to support my standpoint is that restricting individuals from doing dangerous sports means the governments are going against the law of freedom. In fact, each and every person is in control of his decision to do any activities which make him satisfied and happy as long as he does not intend to harm others. The interference from governments, therefore, violates people’s rights to make such a decision. As for the potential threat, even a regular pastime such as soccer can also harm the surrounding viewers. If a soccer player shoots the ball out of the field with a strong force, the ball could hit someone in the face and break his facial bones.

In conclusion, I believe that people should be allowed to choose whatever activities they want to participate as they have the freedom to do so and even a non-extreme sport could bring potential threats to others.