Some people think governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems to help people prevent illness and disease. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that people’s health will be influenced directly or indirectly by the environment and housing condition. Whether governments should focus more on the environment and estate has triggered a controversy. I feel that individuals should take more responsibility for their well-being other than governments’ increasing attention.

Indeed, the environmental problems and housing conditions are two main sources for illness and diseases. In many large cities in northern China, haze weather has become a daily killer, especially causing respiratory diseases in winter. Also, populace will easily access to viruses and bacteria if they live in a poor housing condition without any advanced sanitation. Therefore, governments should give more attention and higher investment in these two areas.

Compared to individuals, governments have more power to arrange a wide range of social resources to address severe issues; however, it does not mean that addressing this problem totally depends on governments. The state is an organizer or a coordinator in our society instead of a responsibility taker. Although governments can claim people to enhance the awareness of environment protection, make policy to strengthen the environment management and invest estate where they need, public health condition is still a personal problem to some degree. People have the obligation to form and keep a healthy and positive lifestyle, or they will still face the threat of illness and diseases even the environment and housing condition getting better.

In conclusion, people also need to take responsibility of their well-being as governments only hold a position as organizer and coordinator. The most feasible solution may be that governments provide a fine setting on one hand and public should pursue a healthy lifestyle for themselves on the other hand.