Some people think that governments should give financial support

to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe

that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the funding of creative artists. While

some people disagree with the idea of government support for artists, I

believe that money for art projects should come from both governments

and other sources.

Some art projects definitely require help from the state. In the UK, there

more important concerns. For example, state budgets need to be spent are many works of art in public spaces, such as streets or squares in city centres. In Liverpool, for example, there are several new statues and sculptures in the docks area of the city, which has been redeveloped recently. These artworks represent culture, heritage and history. They serve to educate people about the city, and act as landmarks or talking points for visitors and tourists. Governments and local councils should pay creative artists to produce this kind of art, because without their funding our cities would be much less interesting and attractive.

On the other hand, I can understand the arguments against government funding for art. The main reason for this view is that governments have

on education, healthcare, infrastructure and security, among other areas.

These public services are vital for a country to function properly, whereas

the work of creative artists, even in public places, is a luxury. Another

reason for this opinion is that artists do a job like any other professional,

and they should therefore earn their own money by selling their work.

In conclusion, there are good reasons why artists should rely on

alternative sources of financial support, but in my opinion government

help is sometimes necessary.