Some people think governments should spend money on faster means of public transport. However, others think money should be spent on other priorities( ex: cost, environment). Discuss both views and give opinions.

It is appreciated that the authorities should allocate their budget to high-speed public vehicles; meanwhile, others believe that spending expenditure on other sectors such as cost and environment is more feasible. Both these schools of thought hold valid arguments. From my perspective, I am truly in agreement with the second viewpoint. This essay will take both sides into consideration and give my verdict.

On one hand, it is tangible that there should be disbursement on faster modes of mass transportations as it is indispensable. Initially, quicker public vehicles will be time-efficient for commuting and mitigate traffic congestion in big cities. Therefore, individuals possess more spare time and there would be a significant increase in productivity at work as employees have additional time to accomplish proposed tasks. Besides, faster cross-country public transport public services are instrumental in easing cross-region travel, creating a narrower gap between urban and rural areas.

On the other hand, other spheres, which I personally believe to be of more significance, are also worth being invested in such as cost and environment as such advantages may be associated with a shift towards public transport. Firstly, government subsidies, which are usually accompanied by higher costs, might fail to accommodate public demand. Reducing the fees will help to make it available to citizens, even the low-income ones. Moreover, funding for public transport should take into consideration its contribution to environmental protection. This is especially essential as, in the modern world, air pollution caused by toxic fumes released by private means of transportation is at an alarming level so the need for reducing it is urgent.

In conclusion, in terms of the improvement of public transport, ensuring sustainability and lowering the cost should be given more priority than boosting its speed.