Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

Some advocates claim that the students should suspend schooling for broadening themselves before they start the college.

First of all, there are abundance advantages of having a gap year before the university. In general, people are confused about what major to choose in college, which could be irrelevant to their future career, and lock of the abilities of team works and communicating skills after graduating from high school. Therefore spending years to work or travel not only increase the opportunities to find out what people exactly desire for, but also broaden their horizons. For example, in high school, most of the students experience the same situation and daily routine. On the contrary, the university students are comprised by various people with different backgrounds, growing the chances to obtain diversity aspects of view though the discussion in classes.

On the other hand, it is unusual in our conservative society because of peers pressure and family expectations. In other words, if a person wants to postpone his permission from school, have to deal with the spiritual stress from their parents and friends. What is worse, the financial supported might force them to give up and stay with their family. In addition, the job opportunities will possibly not match up with the expectation, while the person only graduated from high school.

In my point of view, I believe that spending a gap year to take adventures is one of the methods to be mature and independent of the attitude in life, whereas the pressure from either families or peers are also a considerable concern, having to handle seriously.