Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

Some advocates claim that the students should suspend schooling for broadening themselves before they start the college.

First of all, there are abundance advantages of having a gap year before the university. In general, people are confused about what major to choose, which could be irrelevant to their future career. Furthermore, lock of the abilities of team works and communicating skills are also harmful the achievement in college. Therefore, spending years to work or travel not only increase the opportunities to find out what people exactly desire for, but also broaden their horizons. For example, those students in university will grow the chances to obtain diversity aspects of view from others who experience the same in classes. On the contrary, the points of the high school graduates are unvaried, according to their school lives.

On the other hand, it is unusual in our conservative society due to peers pressure and family expectations. In other words, if a person wants to postpone his permission from school, he has to deal with the spiritual stress from their parents and friends. What is worse, the person might be force to give it up and stay with his family by financial supported. In addition, the job opportunities will possibly not match up with the expectation, while the person only graduated from high school.

In my point of view, I believe that spending a gap year to take adventures is one of the methods to be mature and independent of the attitude in life, whereas the pressure from either families or peers are also considerable concern that have to handle seriously.