Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Nowadays, countries use “mega sports events” to illustrate their modernity and promote their national images. International sports events are a promise of prestige and economic benefits to host countries, though they could raise some significant social and economic problems simultaneously. These downsides may outweigh positive impacts, especially in developing countries.

On the one hand, hosting such events could bring two main benefits for host countries, namely infrastructure development and short-term economic growth. Major sporting events usually give hosting countries a chance to upgrade and build top-notch facilities, such as modern stadiums, better transport links, and commodities to serve the influx of visitors. For example, new rail networks were created in East London for the London Olympics in 2012 that leave a lasting legacy for the residents there because of improvements of underground and overground train services. Moreover, international sports events like the Olympics can attract thousands of sports fans for the duration of the games. Thanks to the surge in tourist numbers, local tourist trade, hotels, shops, and entertainment facilities like nightclubs, bars, and so on are beneficial.

On the other hand, countries managing to host major sports events with scarce resources are actually undertaking a high-risk task. International sporting events force host cities to create expensive infrastructure and buildings with an immense financial budget. Citizens of these countries will be put under the pressure of heavy taxes while their more basic needs are ignored. Misdirection of money could stir people’s wrath and raise protests because these budgets could be put to better use. Brazil, for example, was deeply in debt after hosting the World Cup in 2014 and faced protests before the Rio Summer Olympics took place. In other aspects, many stadiums and arenas were abandoned or came into disuse after the Games, though they were invested billions of dollars. The huge budgets investing in facility development go to waste. For example, the stadiums in Rio which served the 2016 summer Olympics have turned into silent buildings.

In conclusion, hosting Major Sports Events could be a great opportunity for countries to build their national images and boost their economies. However, state leaders should consider bidding for international sports events as its downsides may overweigh the positive effects.