Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion

Opinions differ as to whether it is beneficial for a host nation to organize a global sports event or not. Personally, I think both views are reasonable as each has its own advantages.

It is definitely true that holding a worldwide sports competition brings the host country economical and diplomatic benefits. In terms of the former, it fosters national tourism development and creates more job opportunities for host citizens. For instance, in Olympic Sydney 2000, over 1,6 million visitors traveled to Australia from which around 100 000 new jobs were booming. As to the ladder, this event strengthens the solidarity and co-operation between the host and other countries. All attendees make full use of their resources for the preparation and operation of the event.

However, the financial burden and current pandemic transmission are two alarming issues for the Host National Sports Committee. Government has to spend a huge amount of money on infrastructure renovation and promotion campaigns. This might pose a potential threat to the unforeseeable economic crisis due to the imbalance of governmental budget control. Furthermore, the ongoing Covid pandemic is also a major concern for the host authorities. If the epidemic prevention and precaution are not thoroughly taken, this event may become an uncontrollable outbreak of the world because of the rapid community spread.

Therefore, I believe that in addition to the merits in economy and diplomacy, there are two primary drawbacks that hosting an international sports event has. If the host committee minimizes the adverse aspect by adequate budget management, this event will gain tremendous success in national development.