Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

When discussing the hosting country for an international sports event, some people might think that is a great opportunity for that country, while others deny it. In my point of view, while both sides have their own reasons, I believe that hosting an international sports event is a great opportunity for any country to get it.

On the one hand, having a chance to be the host of an international event means having an opportunity to show the world that country. The hosting country can use that advantage to attract more tourists, advertise its beauty to the world. It can also pull many companies or investors to contribute to the economy through the image it shows in that event.

On the other hand, great benefits come along with great responsibilities. To be chosen as a host country, that country needs to guarantee the profession, facilities, securities, etc. Without those requirements, it is very risky to let that country organize such a huge event, especially a sports event.

In my perspective of thinking, being a host for an international sports event is a one-in-a-time opportunity. Take an example in my country, Vietnam. Vietnam had a chance to host the ASEAN Sports Events in 2019, which is a great opportunity for us to show the world our country through social media and many campaigns of that events. It was obvious that we had to make sure about the facility, the Sports Centre is big enough for the audiences as well as the security and comfort for athletes. Thanks to that, more people know and come to our country after the events, as well as more opportunities provided by many companies and businesses around the world.

In general, being chosen to be the host of an international sports event can be an advantage, leverage or a huge challenge to any country.