Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Throughout the 21st century, a lot of significant global events have happened at different locations. Sports, which is played among nations, is one such event which is becoming extremely popular, especially among the youngsters of the developed nations. The discussion that whether or not to host an international sporting program by a nation is advantageous is a debatable one, with strong logics provided by the supporters of both the views.

On the one hand, hosting an international sports event is a great achievement for the country because you can show how beautiful is your country and greatly increase tourism, which leads to an improvement in the economy because a lot of money is spent. If your country is hosting the soccer world cup, that improve your patriotism.

For example, my dad told me about when the world cup took place in Italy in 1990, everyone felt close to their national team.

Hosting an international sports event brings a lot of supporters from other countries and this leads to making new friends or learning about different cultures.

On the other hand, when your country hosts an international sports event it means that sports facilities need to be improved or new ones built and that implies a large investiment by the state which is difficult to sustain economically. In fact, many countries that have hosted sports event are still paying for facilities and the necessary money are obtained through the tax increase.

In conclusion, I think there are more advantages than disadvantages to hosting an international sports event but I believe only a country with a good economy can do that.