Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Opinion seems divided as to whether it is beneficial for a country to organise a global sporting event. there appear to be strong arguments for both sides, as we shall see.

Advocates would point to the main economic benefits for the host country. Firstly, the sport industry would generate additional income especially from the sale of sports tickets and sports sponsorships. these earnings, relevant experts point out, are considered a financial boost to host cities. Secondly, the local tourism industry could benefit from the spending of foreign tourists. this is evidenced by a massive surge of monied international tourists flocking to a country currently hosting such events as World Cup Finals or olympic Games.

Opponents, however, would contend that the event could place heavy burdens on the host’s shoulders. olympic Games organisers suggest that investments in event-related facilities, including additional sports complexes or transport hubs, would be potentially huge and this could hurt the state budget. Another concern might be a new outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic. Indeed, if a surging flock of foreign guests were to visit a host country now, leading epidemiologists caution, this might result in dramatic surges in contracted cases, risking local people’s lives and burdening local healthcare systems.

it is, surely, necessary for host nations to factor in these significant risks in this regard. Yet it seems to me that this could do more good than harm, providing event host organisers can guarantee everyone’s safety.

In conclusion, although there seem to be various disadvantages facing different host countries, I believe that these would surely be outweighed by financial advantages so long as organisers effectively deal with issues arising from global sporting competitions