Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion?

It is true that there are numerous controversal debates in terms of whether or not it is benefit for nations organising a global-scale sport event. In my perspective, I hold the view that the arrangement of the international sports event is advantageous for host countries in several aspects.

On the one hand, there would be many reasons why some people suppose that it is an unwise action and might be harmful for their countries to hold a global sport event. The first one regards to a high cost and thoroughness in setting up a sport event with a global scale. In other words, in order to organise an international sport event, it is required an abundance of money to equip and plan for thorough security and places occurred the event that is unaffordable for developing nations. Another reason is that the host countries’ environment would be contaminated due to garbage which is left by spectators. For example, after sport matches such as football, basketball and so on, people often left a stage full of trash behind their back as a matter of fact.

On the other hand, despite aforementioned controversies, I strongly believe that being a host nation obviously draws many benefits for economy as well as reputation in several elements. First and foremost, the organisation of an international sporting event may help the host states approach more sport fans throughout the world, meaning that it is increasingly travelled and visited by tourists. Therefore, the tourism industry would increasingly thrive along with the development of the countries’ economy. Secondly, sportmanship of residents could be enhanced significantly when their nations become the host. Last but not least, the modern infrastructure where occurs such events could be utilised by local citizens for social purposes, which proves that the investments would definitely unwasteful.

In conclusion, eventhough there are several difficulties to hold a global-scale sporting event, I still hold my position that countries should be encouraged to organise those once in their history.