Some people think that hosting international sports events is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

There has been an unsolved debate about whether an international sports festival will bring positive or negative effects on the host nations. The argued statement can be explained in several ways; I personally suppose that the drawbacks will dominate the benefits however.

The proponents may think of significant economic advantages for hosting such events. The first one is the promising development of the tourism industry. In fact, it can be denied that a global event like the World Cup or Olympic has a great potential for attracting tourists to the hosting country. During the festival, sports fans flock to the country in horde, which means the host can take advantage of this occasion to advertise their tradition as well as customs to the foreigners. Doing this well can establish a firm foundation for tourism after the event

finishes. Another key point to mention is a large number of job opportunities. The government of the host always needs to prepare carefully for everything from the infrastructure to the people, so it is a great requirement for the labour force to build a new stadium or guide visitors when the event is taking place.

On the other hand, holding such a big event can place a great financial burden on the national budget. In other words, to be eligible to host the event requires a country to prepare many aspects as mentioned above.

Limited time for preparation may lead to a state that copious money is mobilized hastily for the festival. The governors have to spare no expense to meet the requirements of the event, such as a stadium with standard capacity or staff to ensure the security during the festival when sports fans around the world converge on the host nation, which can become a source of stress for the budget while the budget is not sufficient and one of the reasons for national debt. Greece after the Athens 2004 Olympic Games is a case in point.At first, expected to be an economic opportunity for Greece, the country in economic troubles at the time, the games turned out a huge liability of 163 billions euro because the leaders were spendthrift on the infrastructure, most of which were left abandoned later.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that being a host of an international sports game has a positive influence on tourism. However, the financial problems that the host may face after the event convince me to believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.