Some people think that a huge amount of time and

money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and

that this money could be better spent on the human

population. To what extent do you agree or disagree

with this opinion?

Some people hold the belief that money spent on wildlife preservation should be better taken to other areas to meet the human’s needs. Personally, I completely disagree with this point of view.

On the one hand, although people comprehend the prominent role of wild animals, I do not believe that a large amount of time or money is actually spent on protecting such animals. Charity organizations are believed to be the main contributors to wildlife conservation projects, and people therefore have no right to decide whether or not such voluntary unions should make a generous donation towards. In addition, there is no doubt that not all citizens are willing to devote their time and money to environment-related campaigns since it might be against the law to force them to engage in these activities.

On the other hand, providing national and personal budgets for wildlife conservation is more imperative than ever before for a couple of reasons. On a biological level, it is more likely to disrupt the ecological balance due to the lack of certain animals. Indeed, everything in nature is connected, and if one species becomes extinct, many other animals and even plants will suffer as the food chain is interrupted. From a social perspective, if we exploit or destroy every last square meter of land in order to feed or accommodate the world’s population, human-induced climate change can bring humanity to a position where we have no choice but to tackle a variety of related problems. For instance, rising temperatures in the decades ahead will lead to major disruptions in agriculture and crops thus won’t grow because of harsh weather conditions.

In conclusion, for the compelling reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that individuals are held accountable and should take steps to preserve and maintain the natural balance of all creatures on the Earth.