In a number of countries, some people thinks it’s necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

These days, there are different views on how money can be spent on transportation in some countries. Some people believe that governments should invest much money on new high-speed railways while others suppose it is better to improve existing public transport.In this essay, I will cover both viewpoints and draw some conclusions.

On the one hand, to some extent, a high-speed rail is believed to have overwhelming advantages. Firstly, this transport system allows people to travel quickly and affordably compared to other public transport. To be specific, by reducing the cost and travel time, workers living far from their workplace will be more able to commute easily and they can visit relatives when they need without purchasing a plane ticket or enduring a long and uncomfortable journey by coach or slow train. Secondly, connecting cities via high-speed railways ensures that safety can be assured. In fact, commuters are not afraid of driving or getting stuck; so the rate of road accidents will be cut down.

On the other hand, some people support the idea that the governments should invest in upgrading existing public transport infrastructure due to a number of reasons. Firstly, the degradation of day-to-day public transport is an alarming issue which large cities have to face. Indeed, old buses pollute the city air with thick exhaust fume and this exacerbates the problems of air pollution in major cities. Secondly, improving available transportation does not require too much financial resources compared to the fast train network. In other words, governments can invest more money on other fields like education or medical care.

All things considered, while it is undeniable that constructing a modern high-speed rail network has its own advantages, enhancing already-existing public transport should be the priority/ is more imperative than ever before.