Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has had negative effects on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of modern technology, computers and mobile phones will become an indispensable part of our life. Some people believe that this trend will exert an adverse impact on youngster’s reading and writing skills. Personally, I firmly agree with this idea with some reasons in the below essay.

To begin with, in the world of advanced science and technology, modern devices like smartphones and computers are beneficial to help people gain access to a wealth of information or keep up with many new trends in social media. However, they usually spend almost precious time surfing the Internet, interacting with others in the virtual world instead of reading valuable books. More and more students are rarely interested in reading books for pleasure and enjoyment instead of reading only to pass an examination. This alarming phenomenon exacerbates the young generation’s reading and acts as a deterrent to broaden the student’s knowledge and logical thinking.

Secondly, the influence of computers and mobile phones on student’s writing ability has become an issue of concern. Youngsters have a tendency to use alternative words, symbols or slang in communicating or chatting with their friends to convey their thoughts in social media. This trend gradually shapes bad habits for students in writing, decreasing their vocabulary and effect on the national culture. Moreover, most people are familiarizing themselves with various convenient programs that help people to write easily like Microsoft Word,...This program will help people in typing, copying and pasting content or correcting spelling automatically and it wields a detrimental influence on a student's writing skill.

In conclusion, the use of computers and smartphones can have many drawbacks for the reading and writing skills of students. Therefore, schools and parents should have more solutions to encourage children in improving these skills and controlling their time in using these devices.