​​Some people believe that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue, but others consider that tourism is the only way of protecting a culture. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

With the development of the service-based economy, tourism plays a vital role in the national economy. Many people think that tourism develops too fast and that leads to many matters of concern about the national culture while others believe it helps to maintain culture, especially national culture with distinctive features.

On the one hand, it can be true that tourism brings many positive impacts on maintaining the traditional culture. Firstly, the government spends more on the national budget to rebuild and preserve many monuments, heritage structures, and historical places over the years. This action helps introduce the value of culture and history to both locals and foreigners and attracts many visitors to travel to explore amazing things in these countries. This is also a chance for locals to have a chance to take a deep understanding of the country’s culture, remind them about our ancestor’s victory and also their sacrifice for the country's freedom. Secondly, tourism is a motivation for both authorities and citizens to protect intact natural habitats and improve the quality of the overall beautification of surroundings to increase the quality of tourism, preserve original culture and advertise the beauty image of the country to abroad.

On the other hand, there are many drawbacks for the traditional culture that come from tourism. Nowadays, tourism is a new industry which has more potential revenue. Therefore, many locals find more ways to take advantage of culture to catch up with the newest trends and make money. Year after year, they gradually change their local natural habitats for commercial purposes that leads to possible loss of cultural practices. For example, Sapa is known as a popular tourist attraction in Vietnam but now there are plenty of tourist places that are only used to take a picture or check - in that it is easy to lose their customs in culture. Secondly, the infrastructure is seemingly not built with any particular plan. Therefore, it leads to the loss of the beauty of some old buildings there.

In conclusion, it can be undenied that tourism has some negative effect in our life, especially tourism, I believe that tourism is a key field that helps not only to preserve the national culture but also boost the country's development.