Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution; others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent decades, it has been seen that the advancement in technology has not only provided luxuries but also given birth to several problems. Today, the deterioration of air is an alarming issue globally. While some people are of the opinion that a day when cars are prohibited is a workable measure to alleviate this contamination, but this problem needs large scale and long-term measures to be taken.

On the one hand, there is a common belief that a car-free day can reduce air-pollution severity. Firstly, carbon emission from exhausted fumes may be significantly cut off, for cars are not allowed to be used on that day. To enumerate, cars are the major contributor in traffic and thus major contributor in air pollution as well. Avoiding cars can successfully reduce the air contamination at least for one day. Secondly, avoiding the use of car on that day leaves no resort other than means of transport such as walking, bus or subway, and therefore, the rewarding experiences help them be aware of the convenience and mobility of other commuting methods in comparison with cars. Consequently, the environment friendly transports can become their preferred choice.

On the other hand, abandoning cars for a day is not sustainable enough to address severe air contamination. In other words, only applying car-free rules for one day decreases the greenhouse gas emissions very minimally. Instead, government should impose higher taxes on cars, like it has been implementing in many developing countries. Only after this policy is applied only fewer people can afford cars, and eventually car density on roads fall with the decline of its emissions. Furthermore, other developed nations should invest in energy-efficient engines so that commuters can still benefit from the safety and comfort of cars and the quantity of pollutants in the atmosphere is controlled. For example, electric cars can be a feasible alternative for petroleum ones for eco-friendly purposes.

In conclusion, the program that encourages motorists to give up their cars for one day is a good idea to deal with air pollution, but government need to simultaneously take other measures such as increase in car price and advancements of car engines.