Some people think that international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is regularly argued that implementing car-ban in a few days would be an effective measure to protect the environment by reducing air pollution. From my personal perspective, I give my strong opposition to the aforementioned viewpoint as I believe there are many other environmentally friendly methods.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the number of private cars has been increasing significantly as the results of the advent of modern technology. This also means that the more cars consumed, the more exhaust emissions emitted, and the air pollution is becoming an existential problem, especially in metropolitan. Therefore, international car-free days is believed to reduce the amount of emissions stemming from this means of transportation and obviously contributes to environmental protection in the long run.

However, this is such a short-sighted method to protect the environment as air pollution is attributed to not only the increasing number of cars, but also other resources such as emissions from industrial areas. Instead, the government should interfere by enacting environmental laws which restrict the amount of emissions of factories, or rasing residents’ awareness by encouraging them to be involved in eco-friendly activities. For example, planting trees or using public transportation instead, which curb a large number of vehicles in streets including private cars. This is not only tackle this problem but also save national budget.

In conclusion, I would contend that a proposal to international car-free days might be a good idea for environmental protection, but it is only tackle a a small part of evironment problems. Therefore, other measures to mitigate the pollution should be taken into account.