Some people think that international tourism creates more tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, international tourism has dramatically developed and become the primary source of income for many countries, however, some people reckon that the oversea tourist is the reason for causing tension and negative impacts to the country they visit. In my perspective, I believe international tourism brings more benefits than disadvantages, especially creates understanding between people from different customs.

It is undeniable that travel broadens our minds. The differences among cultures stimulate human's curiosity, tourists are always ready to open their mind for inquiring about new customs, habits, they will find interests in local residents, as a result, the conversations between tourists and locals will be created and it is conspicuous that communication is the best way to build understanding and beliefs among different people whereby tourists and locals can help each other to study languages, for examples, English learners in Ha Noi often go to Hoan Kiem Lake to talk with foreigners who are able to help them improve their English speaking skill. Not only that, when tourists approach to another philosophy, they may change their minds. For examples, when Western people go to Asian countries, they may come to know how young generation respect their elder in their society and when Asian people travel to Western countries, they may know how to live independent like Western adolescences.

On the other hand, international tourism changes people's perspective. In the modern life, people always think that watching TV, reading newspapers can help them know all about the world out there but it is definitely wrong. Maybe, all the things they know about Afghanistan are civil wars, armed conflicts and poor children but the real thing is Afghanistan is a beautiful country with sweeping valleys, stunning lakes, snow-capped mountains and gorgeous residents. Moreover, international tourism is a workable way to solve tension. For instance, when rich tourists from developing countries travel to northern Africa and the Middle East, they may comprehend more about the difficulties that local people have to face with and tourists will totally be able to help.

In conclusion, the juxtaposition of the tension with understanding is obvious that international tourism brings more understandings between people from different cultures. It helps create international integration, strengthen solidarity and make more chances to solve municipal problems from global helps.