Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in a group, while others believe that it is better for them to study alone. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Moving towards the 21st century, many people are nowadays expressing a deeply growing concern about what is the best way for the student to learn effectively. In fact, there are some who hold firmly to their belief that learning in a group of students is known to be a good way at schools. However, others argue convincingly that they should study on their own. Therefore, some arguments both for and against this issue will be addressed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, there are two main points for people to defend the former argument that students should work collaboratively with each other. It is a well-documented fact that studying in a group can bring students many benefits. The most obvious example to prove is that when they have a question regarding the subject they are learning, they can discuss that question and have it fully and immediately answered, which can greatly facilitate their learning process. Furthermore, there is no doubt that students can have further discussions over the issue raised in their textbook or by their lecturer. For instance, a group of law students can discuss whether abortion is a violation of human rights or not. Each student will have a chance to listen to the views of others with regard to the problem, present their own ideas and discuss those ideas with others.

On the other hand, there are two primary pieces of evidence for people to support that latter argument. First and foremost, it is commonly accepted that studying alone also proves to be effective for many students. A clear example to prove is that some students prefer to study alone in a quiet environment in order to be able to better concentrate on studying and prevent themselves from being disturbed by others. Equally important, there is no denying that there are also other students who study more effectively if they are alone because this allows them to work at their own pace. This is supported by the fact that when studying independently, a student can spend more time searching a topic that he is interested in or does not adequately understand. This is nearly impossible if that student studies in a group where members have to stick to the group’s studying schedule.

All things considered, it is my strong belief that studying in a group or studying alone can be equally advantageous to students. Students should adopt the studying method which they consider to be more effective and suitable for them.